E. Varvarigos - Scientific Director


Doctorate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T., 1992)


Degree, Electronic engineer (N.T.U.A.)

Tel: 2610 960360 
e-mail: Αυτή η διεύθυνση ηλεκτρονικού ταχυδρομείου προστατεύεται από κακόβουλη χρήση. Χρειάζεται να ενεργοποιήσετε την Javascript για να τη δείτε.  
Website: https://www.ece.ntua.gr/en/staff/193 

Emmanouel (Manos) Varvarigos was born in Athens, Greece, in 1965. He received a Diploma in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 1988, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, in 1990 and 1992, respectively.
In 1990 he was a researcher at Bell Communications Research, Morristown, NJ. From 1992 to 1998 he was an Assistant and later an Associate Professor at the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. In 1998-1999 he was an Associate Professor at the Electrical Engineering department at Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands.

In 1999 he became a Professor at the department of Computer Engineering and Informatics at the University of Patras, where he is director of the Hardware and Computer Architecture Division.

He has received an NSF research initiation award and the 1st Prize in the national competition in Mathematics. He was the organizer of the 1998 Workshop on Communication networks and was in the program committee of several international conferences.

His research activities are in the areas of protocols and algorithms for high-speed networks, all-optical networks, high-performance switch architectures, parallel and distributed computing, interconnection networks, VLSI layout design, performance evaluation, and ad-hoc networks.

Previous collaborators

  • Aggelopoulos Panagiotis
  • Chatziperis Theodoros
  • Giannis Grigorios
  • Kollias Georgios
  • Komianou Aggeliki
  • Kordas Panagiotis
  • Koumoutsos Konstantinos
  • Mesiri Spyridoula
  • Mponarou Georgia
  • Papanikolopoulou Konstantina
  • Papaspyropoulos Panagiotis
  • Patoucha Paraskevi
  • Preza Eleni
  • Savvopoulos Anastasios
  • Stavropoulou Antonia
  • Strimpakos Georgios
  • Terpou Maria
  • Tokis Theodoros
  • Tsaglas Thomas
  • Fokaeos Stefania

Previous interships

  • Armenatzoglou Dimitris
  • Avramidis Diogenis
  • Chaina Vasiliki
  • Dimitriou Georgios
  • Efkarpidis Konstantinos
  • Founta Despoina
  • Katti Aggeliki
  • Kita Dimitra
  • Kotsopoulos Panagiotis
  • Oikonomou Alexandra
  • Paliatsas Nikolaos
  • Papadopoulos Rafael
  • Preza Aggeliki
  • Stefas Andreas
  • Tsantili Marina
  • Vasilopoulou Konstantina
  • Viziteu Daniel